#### A. FAQ on "State Awards"

#### 1. What is Satyendra Puraskar?

Ans: Satyendra Puraskar is named in the memory of world renowned Scientist **Prof. Satyendra Nath Bose** (January 1, 1894 - February 4, 1974). Starting from the year 1993, an annual prize named Satyendra Puraskar is awarded every year to an individual who is adjudged the best popular Science Writer in Bengali for the year. For further details including rules and/ or major guidelines, please visit Departmental Portal <a href="www.vigyansathi.in">www.vigyansathi.in</a> of Department of Science & Technology and Biotechnology (DSTBT).

#### 2. What is Meghnad Puraskar?

Ans: Meghnad Puraskar is named in the memory of world renowned Scientist **Prof. Meghnad Saha** (October 6, 1893 – February 16, 1956). Starting from the year 1993, an annual prize named Meghnad Puraskar is awarded every year to a Voluntary Organisation (V.O) which is located and working in this State and which is adjudged the best voluntary Organisation of the year for the performance of science popularisation activities. For further details including rules and/ or major guidelines, please visit Departmental Portal <a href="www.vigyansathi.in">www.vigyansathi.in</a> of Department of Science & Technology and Biotechnology (DSTBT).

#### 3. What is Gopal Chandra Bhattacharya Smriti Puraskar?

Ans: Gopal Chandra Bhattacharya Smriti Puraskar is named in the memory of eminent Entomologist and Naturalist Shri Gopal Chandra Bhattacharya (August 1, 1895 - April 8, 1981). It is awarded annually to a person as a token recognition of his/ her notable contribution in the field of science popularization and

performance in disseminating science from the libraries and laboratories to the common people of West Bengal. For further details including rules and/ or major guidelines, please visit Departmental Portal <a href="www.vigyansathi.in">www.vigyansathi.in</a> of Department of Science & Technology and Biotechnology (DSTBT).

# 4. When the advertisement on State Awards of Department of Science & Technology and Biotechnology (DSTBT) is published in newspapers? What is the last date of submission of application?

Ans: The newspaper advertisement is published generally in the month of July every year.

### 5. How many State Awards are there in DSTBT? What are the names of the awards?

Ans: There are three awards instituted by DSTBT: (i) Satyendra Puraskar, (ii) Meghnad Puraskar and (iii) Gopal Chandra Bhattacharya Smriti Puraskar.

#### 6. What are the eligibility conditions for each award?

Ans: For eligibility criteria, please visit Departmental Portal <u>www.vigyansathi.in</u>.

#### 7. If there is any prize money or only certificates are awarded?

Ans: In case of each of the three awards, it consists of prize money of Rs. 50,000/-, a certificate of honour and a plaque.

#### 8. Are there any guidelines or rules for the three awards?

Ans: Yes, the rules and/ or major guidelines may be seen in the Departmental Portal www.vigyansathi.in.

#### 9. How the awardees are selected?

Ans: There are three Award Committees for selection of awardees based on laid down rules of DSTBT.

#### 10. How the prize money is given in case of more than one awardees.

Ans: The prize shall be proportionately divided in case of more than one awardees.

#### 11. What documents are required to be submitted during application?

Ans: Please refer to the Departmental Portal <u>www.vigyansathi.in</u> for requirements of documents.

#### 12. What is the method of application?

Ans: One has to visit the Departmental Portal <u>www.vigyansathi.in</u> for submission of online application in respect of each of the three awards. Before filling up of relevant fields in online application, please register yourself first in the said Portal.

#### 13. Who can apply for the awards?

Ans: Any individual with specified eligibility criteria can apply for Satyendra Puraskar and Gopal Chandra Bhattacharyya Smriti Puraskar. A Voluntary Organisation (V.O) with specified eligibility criteria can apply for Meghnad Puraskar. The eligibility criteria can be seen in the Departmental Portal <a href="https://www.vigyansathi.in">www.vigyansathi.in</a>.

## 14. What is State Innovation Award (SIA)? Does it have any bearing with the three State Awards named after three eminent Bengali Scientists?

Ans: State Innovation Award (SIA) was introduced in the year 2006 to encourage, recognize, honour & reward grass root technological innovations developed by the unorganized sector of the state. SIA is given to three grass root innovators and one outstanding scout during the subsequent State Science & Technology Congress. State Innovation Award is a separate initiative of DSTBT and it does not have any bearing with the three State Awards named after three eminent Bengali Scientists.